top of page
Fransie Malherbe Frandsen
Digital artist

Fransie Malherbe Frandsen

Digital artist


Fransie Malherbe Frandsen was born in Cape Town, South Africa. She lived and studied in several countries, before settling in Geneva, Switzerland. Now a fine artist, as well as writer and illustrator, Fransie’s background is in Graphic Design and Art Psychotherapy.
For her art, Fransie takes inspiration from her childhood in South Africa, her exposure to many cultures, as well as from her experience as an Art Psychotherapist, working with troubled and marginalised individuals. Through her work, Fransie strives to bring to light and to provoke thought, concerning those issues dismissed by society.
Fransie’s work often features elements such as birds, nests and eggs. In her series, Lost while Hatching, these elements are used as symbols off attachment, bonding and mothering or to represent birth, awakening or transition. In this series, Fransie experiments with bringing another dimension to her work by cutting a frame into the artwork to add an object. In this way, the painting becomes 3-dimensional and invites the viewer to interact with the artwork through another sense; touch.
In Blah, blah, blah, Beatrice! Fransie looks at the restrictions placed on the behaviour of women and girls in modern society. Freedom of speech is still dictated by the expectation to avoid certain subjects and ways of expression, effectively taking away their voices. Masks of beauty, religion, tradition or prejudice often still silence women. In a quest to further communication with the viewer, Fransie often adds text and pattern to her work, which engages the attention of the viewer on a different level as well as adding additional contrast, texture and meaning.
Fransie works mainly in mixed media. Despite the collage effect that this technique offers, there is no paper present on the artwork.
In addition, Fransie also writes and illustrates children’s books. She has successfully written and illustrated a series of four children’s books in the series called Alexander’s Questions.


bottom of page